Ralph Breaks the Internet Reviews

Page 1 of 46
January 17, 2019
Disappointing. This is the first word to come to mind about Ralph Breaks the Internet. Besides the fact that Wreck it Ralph, a far superior film to its predecessor, did not need a sequel-- it felt more like Disney advertisements then anything else. It lacked depth and a unique story line with vivid emotions and essential impacts. The ending is cliche. Whats worse is the critics positives ratings. How is this movie great? Of course the art is spectacular, yet that is not the point. These all feel like different characters from the first film, the jokes hardly land if ever, and the plot dilemma feels 'choppy' at best. Why did they choose a different director for the sequel? They should have kept the same one. This movie is beyond cash grab material, its Disney reusing ideas in the mere fact that the audience will blindly return to the cinema. Again, disappointing. Disney, come up with more original ideas instead of butchering dear ones.
½ January 17, 2019
As much as I loved this movie, the cast, and the humor, it doesn't feel like a movie to me until the emotional toll hits, and it hits hard. I applaud this movie for teaching a lesson that you definitely do not see out there everyday. That true friendship and love is letting people be free to do what they want to do, and the most you can do is support them every step of the way even if it means you miss out. The core relationship is elevated further than the last movie and ends on a note I would not have expected. The animation is just beautiful and they took what could've been a stupid plot for a movie and fleshed it out into a very much enjoyable adventure ride.
January 17, 2019
I mean it tried... the movie had pacing issues, no real villain, excessive advertisements, and jokes that only hit about 40% of the time.
January 17, 2019
Six years after the first ´┐ 1/2 1/2Wreck-It Ralph´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? surprised audiences with its heart and humor, Disney attempts to break their notorious bad sequel curse with ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?. While I honestly cannot say that it is better than the original, ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the ´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? surpassed all of my expectations and cemented itself as a well thought-out and formidable continuation to a modern animated classic.

Revisiting the same cast of colorful characters featured in the first film, ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? follows Ralph and his pint-sized best friend Vanellope as they journey across the internet in search of a replacement part for Vanellope´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s racing game ´┐ 1/2 1/2~Sugar Rush´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM). Though I was initially wary of the seemingly gimmicky premise of a movie taking place in the internet ( I will never truly recover from the traumatic experience that was ´┐ 1/2 1/2The Emoji Movie´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?), ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? approaches the web from a very clever and interesting angle.

Though it is difficult to give concrete examples of how the movie handles internet slang and concepts without delving into spoiler territory, the way in which the concepts are handled not only feels fresh and innovative but also purposeful from a narrative standpoint. Instead of just being referential jokes and throwaway one-liners, the internet-specific details serve as plot points, which means that the setting feels less like a shtick and more of a necessary way to move the plot along.

The plot, however, is not the highlight of this film. Although it is clever, the real meat of ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? is in its character relationships and emotional narrative. Instead of using characters for the sole purpose of comedy, the movie transforms Ralph and Vanellope´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s odd-couple dynamic into the central core of the film. For a movie aimed at children, I was surprised at how grown-up it´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s emotional message was. While ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? is certainly aimed towards kids, I think that viewers of any age will be able to appreciate the lesson that Ralph and Vanellope learn.

However, when the movie is not spending time developing an emotional backbone or focusing on its clever premise, it tends to suffer. I found the scenes with Gal Gadot´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s ´┐ 1/2 1/2Shank´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? to be a general low point in the film. For a character all about speed, she sure did slow down the film´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s momentum. One of the many great things about the original ´┐ 1/2 1/2Wreck-It Ralph´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? was the colorful and interesting characters, and perhaps the greatest flaw of ´┐ 1/2 1/2Ralph Breaks the Internet´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? is that the writers feel the need to add more, less interesting characters instead of using the great ones it already has. For example, instead of spending time with Fix-It Felix or Sergeant Calhoun, we got an entire plot line surrounding the character ´┐ 1/2 1/2Yesss´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬?, who was not nearly as gratifying as her name implies. The scene where Vanellope enters the ´┐ 1/2 1/2Oh My Disney´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? website will also be divisive with viewers. While I found it for the most part entertaining and clever, it does feel a little forced in the grand scheme of things, and it does not do much for the movie in terms of plot. However, for eagle-eyed viewers or Disney fanatics, it is a veritable ´┐ 1/2 1/2Where´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s Waldo´┐ 1/2 1/2´┐ 1/2┬? of easter eggs and Disney references.

With the exception of the new, weaker characters, Ralph Breaks the Internet managed to avoid falling victim to many of the typical sequel problems. With an engaging, unique premise and a script chock full of clever humor, it is definitely a sequel worthy of the original.
½ January 17, 2019
Honest, modern and funny like the previous chapter: exactly what I expected but nothing more.
½ January 17, 2019
Ralph breaks the internet is the sequel to wreck it Ralph.really good animation from the game characters to the online people. Good voice acting especially from John C. Reilly as Wreck it Ralph. Okay story with some cool and inventive ideas. Some that work and some that dont. Good characters like Ralph Knowsmore, but there are also some okay characters like Yesss. Half the jokes were very good and clever, but the other half of the jokes were ether toilet humour or just didnt work. The film also felt clunky and felt like it was 2 movies in one. In my opinion the first movie is better but that doesnt mean this is a bad movie not by any means its just not a great movie. Over all I give it a 5/10
January 16, 2019
Derivative trash with an objectionable direction. Some of the ways the internet is potrayed was clever but overall very bland. Let characters were forsaken for underveloped new ones and the overall theme of the movie is a wreck. Pun intended.
January 16, 2019
"Ralph Breaks the Internet" is a wonder! It captured the internet lifestyle completely, it showed all corners of the internet and its dangers. It never really shied away from anything. It has some beautiful things to say about relationships and it disguised them perfectly into this colourful adventure through the internet. The Vanellope-Ralph relationship is a wonder to watch, we rarely get to watch such a friendship between a guy and a girl character. "Ralph Breaks the Internet" is actually pretty entertaining and fun! Lets just put this out there as well, the Disney Princesses should have their own brand asap! I mean give them TV shows, movies, give them the whole deal! Their scenes were a wonder!
January 15, 2019
After the brilliance that was the original, like so many sequels, this is a huge let-down.
January 15, 2019
For me, the charm of the original was lost. This kinda gave me a headache to watch. Who is the antagonist? Old boy's insecurity? Ugh...... gtfo please.
½ January 15, 2019
The first half of the movie was funny and pretty fun. After they meet the princesses, however, it starts becoming a predictable, unfunny mess. They should've focused more on trying to make a good film instead of trying to push a political agenda into a kids movie.
½ January 15, 2019
Disney's 57th Animated Feature in which Ralph and Vanellope discover a wi-fi router in their arcade, which leads them to the world of the Internet in an attempt to save her game. A worthy sequel full of easter eggs and references so cleverly introduced that it is a pleasure to watch, including the representation of important Internet companies and Disney's most famous characters and features. It is a hard work of animation that pays off with an emotional message about the strength of friendship and the accomplishment of dreams. Good luck at the awards' season, even though Sony seems to be superior this time.
½ January 15, 2019
Ralph Breaks The Internet is a worthy successor, that keeps building on the relationships of the first movie with many hilarious, emotional and honest moments. It also features a large amount of pop-culture references that will appeal to both children and adults.
January 14, 2019
Eh inegavel que o filme possui seus momentos bons, engracados e divertidos, porem, pelo mundo a ser explorado, o da internet, deixou muito a desejar, em muitos momentos me senti perdido se o filme realmente gostaria de apresentar uma historia divertida e recuperar a magia dos jogos de fliperamas junto com a magia dos games novos onlines ou passar uma ideia, um ideal ou uma mensagem subliminar feminista/feminina de que garotas sao tao boas quanto garotos e de que todos devam seguir seus sonhos independente do que eh certo (assim como perdedores tambem sao sempre vencedores). A disney anda muito estranha ultimamente, antigamente criavam historias que duravam para sempre, hoje, criam mensagens que soh duram no tempo de exibicao do filme. Me senti frustrado, mais um filme para ser esquecido com o passar dos anos.

It is undeniable that the film has its good moments, funny and fun, but the world to be explored, the internet, left much to be desired, many times I felt lost if the movie really would like to present a fun story and recover magic of the arcade games along with the magic of the new online games or pass on an idea, an ideal or a subliminal feminist / feminine message that girls are as good as boys and that everyone should follow their dreams regardless of what is right (losers are be a winners too). Disney has been very strange lately, they used to create stories that last forever, today, they create messages that last only in the time of the movie. I felt frustrated, yet another movie to be forgotten over the years.
½ January 14, 2019
This truly is a testament to disneys ability to add charm and wonder to anything as the creators manage to make the internet a fun and imaginative world. But despite all the fun characters and funny scenarios, Ralph Breaks the Internet still cannot shake the fact its a mish mash of different ideas, characters and worlds all borrowed from other successful movies. While Venelope and Ralph are given compelling and emotional stories, much of the film seems a tick box exercise. The original film was so unique its a shame we lose the comedy, worlds and characters that made the first film a success.
January 14, 2019
Ralph Breaks the internet has a good moral message about insecurity and friendship but it does it with such messy execution and predictability that it leaves you restless in your seat, regretting your decision not to have stayed in and watched something better on the real internet.
It seems Disney animation is having an identity crisis. It is clambering to capture too many audiences while failing to entertain any of them. This becomes obvious when the script flip flops between meaningless fart jokes and songs that repeat the word slaughter too many times to be comfortable in a Disney film. Vanellope is a child protagonist whose acceptance of a dark teenage game makes you wonder at what the movie is trying to say. I cringed through jokes about death and grungy nods to games the target audience shouldn't even come close to knowing about. At one point Vanellope remarks 'Mother Fudger". Not a line I ever thought I would hear in a family film and one that legitimises the vulgar content for children. This is especially true when the main characters end up working for a viral pop up website which never truly gets held to account.
The movie does have delightful peppered moments that preach how the internet is a dangerous place but never delves deep enough to really feel there is a point.
The world building and visuals are of course rich and interesting but the way they change the locations in such a fast paced way can leave you feeling a little dizzy.
If that hasn't *wrecked* your appetite, this movie reads like a corporate advert. It peddles self referencial humour to a level I haven't seen until now. We see so many corporate logos we can almost hear the Disney shareholders rubbing their hands together. Company synergy over plot appears to be this movie's main drive.
Disney used to make timeless tales that pushed artistic boundaries and furthered the medium of animation. Alas this movie plays closer to a Tumblr blog post than the next Bambi.
January 14, 2019
Has a few great scenes but spends so much time on bland, safe internet parodies that the bunny-feeding scene from the trailer was cut because it no longer fit in this sanitized sequel.
January 14, 2019
Such a good movie and better than the first one. Kept the littles entertained
January 14, 2019
(Spoilers) Great successor to the Wreck-It Ralph movie, I'll admit it didn't leave as much as a profound effect on me as the first one did, but the idea was incredibly original and fresh, yet again, and the concepts of how the wifi, modem and how the internet world looks like - wow. Just wow. I was there with my mouth hanging the entire time Ralph and Vanellope zoomed into the internet. And how all humans were avatars in the internet world. It was so succulently fresh and I applaud the team for making the internet world even more magical than I ever thought it could be.

Applauses for how it touched "real issues". The Reddit community was saying it was "too real", but isn't that great? Going past boundaries people are afraid to touch, like the aspect of farewell a la Toy Story 3. Bittersweet but life goes on, and there are ways to overcome this together :)

The princess scenes are INCREDIBLE. That collaboration to "save a big and strong man" was iconic, along with Henry Jackman's background track that echoed each princess' theme. It was phenomenal. Nobody gave two hoots that Ralph was wearing a dress, Ralph didn't either (and even complained it was too small!) - and that made me smile!

And Vanellope's song! That blew me away! Never did I expect a true blue disney-esque song to appear in Wreck-It Ralph as much as I didn't expect to hear a song in How To Train Your Dragon 2!

Overall, very pleasant, but not as impressive as the first. Glad I saw this in the theaters, but bummed I missed the second after-credits scene. Couldn't get rick-rolled by Ralph himself. Bummer.
January 14, 2019
This is not a professional review. Wreck it Ralph Breaks the Internet was extremely disappointing. The plot felt so rushed and forced. The ending made no sense, and they completely ruined the characters and the growth from the first movie. The side characters like Fix It and Calhoun didn´┐ 1/2(TM)t get any screen time. I understand that this was supposed to be about Ralph and Vanellope, but they could have fit the other characters in at least a little. The whole plot of the first movie seemed to focus on accepting yourself and making the most of a bad situation. At the end of the movie, Vanellope was happy in her game and to have Ralph with her. The way she acted at the end of the first movie just makes the way she acted in the beginning of the second so... unnatural. The whole movie I felt like I wasn´┐ 1/2(TM)t looking at Ralph or Vanellope. In the first movie, Ralph was tough and determined. He wasn´┐ 1/2(TM)t a crybaby. In the first movie, Vanellope was so I´┐ 1/2(TM)m love with her game. She was so happy when everyone accepted her. But in the second it´┐ 1/2(TM)s like they are entirely new characters. Just with the Wreck It Ralph logo slapped on. Safe to say I am EXTREMELY disappointed with this move. The only redeeming qualities were the amazing cameos, and of course, the princess scene. (I also despised the singing scene because the real Vanellope would never do that). I understand that this may be a kid´┐ 1/2(TM)s movie, but that doesn´┐ 1/2(TM)t mean it has to butcher the first movie.
Page 1 of 46